Monday, August 15, 2011

First Novacut Developer Day!

So this Saturday, August 20th, we're going to have our first Novacut Developer Day. If you're interesting in getting involved with Novacut development, or just want to learn more about our development process or technology stack, please join us in the #novacut IRC channel (freenode).

We're planing for a 3 hour event, from 16:00 - 19:00 UTC. In some common time zones:

  • India: 9:30PM - 12:30AM
  • London: 5PM - 8PM
  • US Eastern: Noon - 3PM
  • US Central: 11AM - 2PM
  • US Mountain: 10AM - 1PM
  • US Pacific: 9AM - Noon

If you can't make it, don't worry: the IRC logs will be available.

This developer day is going to be focused on the Python code in our backend components, and the overall Novacut service architecture. You'll be able to ask lots of questions, and we'll walk you through the basics step by step.

We'll have three 1-hour sessions:


Ubuntu is our primary development platform, and so things will be easiest if you have an Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal install handy, even if just running in VirtualBox.

To be ahead of the game, you should add the Novacut Daily Builds PPA and install a few things in advance, which you can do easiest by copy and pasting these 3 commands:

sudo apt-add-repository ppa:novacut/daily
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install bzr couchdb python3-microfiber python3-filestore

And you probably want to read this so you have a bit more background before Saturday.

We hope you to see you then!

No comments:

Post a Comment